The Blue Black Waves


2010 - Independent Release available on itunes & spotify

The Blue Black Waves

Produced by Peter Baxter, Dónal Lunny and Dave McCune

Engineered by Peter & Dave

Mastered by Tim Martin

Recorded at Troy Horse Recording Studio & The Ventry Studio

(Both Balbriggan Co Dublin) 2007-10

Additional recording at Red Lab Studios Dublin

& engineering by John Joe Daly

Released via digital download April 2010 & CD October 2010


Dónal Lunny, Keith Donald, Dave McCune, Sinead Madden, Dave Flynn,

Liz Seaver, Chris Teusner, Colm Reilly, Joe Mc Kenna & John Joe Daly

Track Listing(Click on link for video       or podcast      or see projects page)

The Blue Black Waves


Through To You

Watching Over Me

Shook The Hand

The Liar’s Tears


The Ballad Of Pemulwuy                                   

The Best Man

The Leaving Song


The result, Baxter's third album, is a collection of 10 well-crafted songs including a thoughtful cover of Archie Roach's Watching over Me and, continuing the exploration of indigenous issues, story song  The Ballad of Pemulwuy, which charts the life of the famous Aboriginal resistance fighter. Inevitably,  the album is touched by an Irish melancholy that washes through songs such as The Liar's Tears and gives the title track, Blue Black Waves, a darkness and sadness.

Baxter is a gifted singer/songwriter who is attempting the near-impossible: to write songs about Australia while living in Ireland.The result is an interesting and provocative interplay between two different culturesBruce Elder - Sydney Morning Herald

“A gorgeous album” Lillian Smith RTE 1

“.. a work of adept originality ” Sean Laffey - Irish Music Magazine

“.. highly melodic and thoughtfully arranged” Siobhan Long

“Gorgeous ! ” Cherrie McIIlwaine BBC ULSTER


Irish Echo (Australia) August 25 2010  download here

Album cover artwork

created by Oscar Garcia Lopez

Liz Seaver

Dave McCune

Sinead Madden

Peter Baxter